Game Day.

It’s been a heck of a week so far, and I believe, the best is yet to come.

Nothing bad can happen when you can start your days off with a game or two of Frogger, right?

I was a little rusty, but that high score will be mine.

We headed off the back 9 this morning just before 8am. When I opened my blinds this morning, I was shocked to see grey and raining. Living in the California desert the last few years, thats not something that happens. Fortunately, it wasn’t too cold and most of the rain had already fallen and it was quite a nice, comfortable playing temperature. A little drizzle here and there, but it was nice.

We saw Freddy Couples in the parking lot on the way in, and to my surprise, he was sitting in the caddie shack when I went to forage for a little breakfast, some water, and snacks for Joe and Cal. He was just sitting there chatting it up. We exchanged hellos and was very friendly.

It turns out we ended up warming up next to him on the range. I didn’t get a photo because I didn’t want to be one of those creepers who tried to sneak one…which is always totally obvious, and I certainly wasn’t going to ask him. I have to act a little cool at times, don’t you think?

Terry had met him a few times being around the Palms so he went over and said hello and they talked about a few common acquaintances. Once again, Freddy was super friendly and congratulated Terry on qualifying. Super nice. Freddy, by the way just chit chatted through his entire warm up and striped balls between stories. Never in much of a hurry to do anything.

We whizzed around the back 9 with 3 other players, one full time player called Ken Davis. They were all super nice, and it was an enjoyable practice round.

After a nice lunch at a really good sports bar, we all went our separate ways for some rest and a nap or possibly a full on sleep for a few hours before we headed back to the course for a little more practice.

Brother watching brother stripe it.

I said I wasn’t going to be a creeper and take an unapproved photo, but in this case I couldn’t help but get a shot of Mrs. Doubtfire Colin Montgomerie.

Nailed it. I wanted to catch it trickling in, but I jumped the gun.

After the practice session, Cal found us a GREAT BBQ restaurant to eat at…in IOWA! It was only about 20 minutes away and well worth the drive. We followed that up with some delicious creamy custard. Yum.

Terry will tee off the 10th tee tomorrow at 9:10am. It’s the perfect time. It’s been a lot of fun being here this week. I can’t tell you how many comments I’ve had that run along the lines of: ‘Are you actually going to carry that bag around this course?’

Umm, yeah, are you asking all the caddies that or just me? 🤔

The course is hilly for sure. One of the full time caddies that we played with today thinks the course is a bit much for the Senior Tour. Apparently already 11 players have withdrawn. Yes, it’s hilly, and it the temperature is going to rise again, but it’s fine. There are a few climbs where I tell Terry that it’s okay if he speaks to me, but not to expect a response. I just put my nose down and climb. In all reality it’s at the most, 300 yards of walking at a time. Lots of rest in between, so it’s all good.

My yardage book, on the other hand, didn’t last. Because I’m a moron I forgot my little cover in my own golf bag and the paper cover started to disintegrate. The butt sweat and constant pulling in and out of the back pocket took it’s toll and started to wear a hole.

Could not hold up.

I had to get resourceful and come up with a plan. I asked the guy at caddy check-in for a new book and a plastic sheath that they give your credentials in and got the brain going.

😎

I thought I was really going to have to manufacture something, but it turns out I just slipped the front cover in the sheath and taped the little extra bit down. A trip to the front desk and a few strips of packing tape and I was good to go.

👍🏼

We are all set for tomorrow.

Here’s the deal:

Along with keeping a close eye on my boy over the last several days, I’ve also been paying close attention to those around us. I’ve watched all the players hit numerous shots, drives, pitches and putts both on the range and during our practice rounds and I can say this: Terry belongs here.

He hits it and drives it and pitches it as well, and better than some. He’s as smooth as silk and has all the makings of what any of these guys have. He has qualities in his games that some of these guys who love to have. One of the guys we played with today told me how much he liked how ‘Terry swung at it.’

It is an event like he’s never played in before. He will be nervous, and that’s such a good thing. That means it means something. I had a sports psychologist tell me one time: ‘Everyone will be nervous and everyone will have butterflies, but the goal is to get them to fly in formation.’

We are all excited for him and so proud of him already. He is so well liked around the club back home, and comes from such a loving family. I can see that from the fantastic support he has with his family all coming in to watch from everywhere, and everyone messaging about him from back home. It’s truly heartwarming.

Tomorrow is going to be another chapter of this already fantastic journey.

We’ve got this, buddy 👍🏼⛳️🏌️

🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋🦋

Step Count: 12 995

6.12 miles

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Whaddaya Think?

Blog at WordPress.com.